The Mornington Tennis Club was established around 1900 and was originally situated on the corner of Queen & Vancouver Streets - Opposite St Peters Church & roughly where the current Mornington Peninsula Shire Offices now exist.
In the forties there were 3 asphalt courts built, with a wooden umpire stand and a quaint shed used as the actual clubhouse. There was also a row of seating, covered by an iron roof between the courts & the backing to Vancouver St, with the entire club being surrounded by a wooden paling fence along Vancouver St and wire netting fencing surrounding the actual courts.
Around 1960 the club moved to it’s current location in Main Street Mornington, (next to the Bays Hospital) where they established 4 En Tout Caas Tennis Courts and the now iconic MTC Clubhouse. In the late 60's courts 5 to 7 were added to the club with a grass area that was converted into a lawn tennis court.
In the early 1970's floodlights were erected on courts 1 & 2 which consisted of lights attached to wires, which were strung high above the court, of which were eventually removed in the early 1980’s.
In 1976 courts 8 & 9 were constructed over the grass area to complete the facility and in 1993 new 'stand alone' Floodlights were installed for courts 5 to 9, which finally enabled us to run our very successful night competitions and enable players to practice and be coached in the evenings.
In 2014, the Mornington Tennis Centre was construction on Civic Reserve, Mornington, and the club moved from its previous located, Main Street, Mornington. Mornington Tennis Centre was designed and constructed to host an extensive coaching program range, tournaments, and competitions/events. Mornington Tennis Centre includes 12 Conipur Pro Clay Courts (all under lights), 4 courts are of international standard size, bar area, modern large clubhouse, administrative office, tournament office, bbq area, picnic area, change rooms/showers, and amenities.